Provincial Notices

Synod of Bishops elects new Bishop of George

The Electoral College of Bishops, meeting in Gauteng, today elected the Venerable Edwin Pockpass of the Diocese of George as the new as Bishop-Elect of the Diocese.

Archdeacon Pockpass was elected on the 10th ballot, on the second day of balloting. He will succeed Bishop Brian Marajh, who has been translated to the Diocese of Kimberley & Kuruman.

An Elective Assembly of the Diocese of George delegated the election of a new Bishop to the Synod of Bishops in May 2022.

Please pray for Archdeacon Pockpass and his family as he prepares for his installation and consecration.